IBM Statistics Academy - Your 10-Day Data Science Bootcamp

In times of Big Data, large data sets are a precious source of information. But how can you best use this resource? The demand for qualified data scientists exceeds by far the supply. The IBM Statistics Academy closes this gap and enables you not only to gather information but also analyse it statistically profounded in a short period of time.

Statistics is the art and science of using data to make better informed decisions.

Learn to use your data and make an entrepreneurial difference. Bakeries, for example, use their data to find a relation between the local weather and consumer preferences. Bakeries using this knowledge were able to optimize their production plans accordingly. This simple example shows how companies which use statistical insights for management decisions outperform the market. We want your company to be one of them.

With the IBM Statistics Academy you will learn how to use statistical methods for your business. Whether you are already working as a data analyst and wish to expand your knowledge, or are just beginning to explore the benefits of statistics, the IBM Statistics Academy has much to offer.

Attending the IBM Statistics Academy will allow you to make management decisions based on your numbers. Join us in building a smarter planet.

IBM Statistics Academy

The academy consists of the following modules:

1. Introduction to IBM SPSS Modeler and Data Mining

Laying the Foundation is a two day course intended to provide participants with fundamental concepts of statistics. Hereby we focus on giving an intuition of the concepts and their meaning in a practical environment, without grinding through mathematical equations. Consequently, this training features an excellent crash-course for all interested newcomers and offers a great fine-tuning for more advanced statisticians. More Information

Advanced Data Preparation Using IBM SPSS Modeler

Entering the Arena is a one day course in which participants create their own dictionary “Business-Statistics”. Participants will be capable of translating business relevant questions into statistical hypotheses and back. This module will teach participants to ask the right questions, leading to a permanent integration of statistical concepts into decision processes of their company. More Information

Automated Data Mining with IBM SPSS Modeler

Getting Data is a 1 day course in which participants learn how to handle various types of databases and use web scraping techniques to import data from the internet. It is estimated that up to 80% of the time spent on statistical projects is used for data acquisition and –import. We show how to avoid the “garbage-in-garbage-out” trap and methods of maintaining high quality data throughout the import process. More Information

Advanced Predictive Modeling using IBM SPSS Modeler

Finding Insights and Making Predictions is a 4 day course which provides participants with the required know-how to predict market movements using appropriate data. We give an extensive overview of the most relevant prediction models and give answers to practical questions arising with the use of these models. More Information

5. Think big! Big Data Analytics in your Business (2 Tage) - U4A05G

Big Data Analytics in your Business is a 2 day course in which we handle many topic around big data – word, vision and most important trend in data analysis of the past years. Big data combines various concepts and techniques to analyze large data sets. This training enables participants to master big data sets. We will show how to adequately address the challenge of big data sets and give an insight on applicable data mining techniques. Furthermore, we show how to incorporate concepts that will enable participants to present their findings. More Information

6. Telling the story - Show what you did (2 Tage) - U4A06G

Telling the story is a two day course in which participants are coached into successfully using statistical methods for business decisions. This does not only require profound statistical skills, it also requires communicating findings with colleagues and superiors. In this course, participants will learn to adequately present their statistical findings. In addition to individualized tables and figures from SPSS, we will teach an innovative approach to dynamically visualize statistical results – “Shiny in SPSS”. More Information

7. Bring it to the Business (5 Tage) - U4A07G

Bring it to the Business is a 5 day course in which participants solve a complex business case. To adequately solve the business problem using statistical methods, the application of techniques from all other modules of the IBM Statistics Academy is required. With our trainer at your side, you will be given an opportunity to work on a real project, present your work and master the challenges of your first statistical project. More Information

There are two possibilities for attending the IBM Academy. On the one hand, it is possible to select and attend specific modules which fit your needs. On the other hand, we offer the academy as a bootcamp.

The bootcamp is your fast-track to become a data-scientist. Within 10 days you will work through all modules from “Laying the Foundation” to “Telling the Story” and, with the help of our experience trainers, become a data scientist.

On completing the IBM Statistics Academy, you will be given the opportunity of attending the module U4A07G - Bring it to the Business (5 days) and apply your gained experience from the academy in a 5-day case study suited to your needs.

Our Coaching Methods

The IBM Statistics Academy relies on three different teaching principles, irrespective of your module selection:
  • Mentor-Mentee relationship: Very small training groups allowing for a closer connection between trainer and the participants, greatly benefitting the participants.
  • Project based approach: Short and unrelated tasks will be replaced with a project based approach. Participants will work on a real and thus complex project where the participants face various interconnected challenges.
  • Get-out-of-your-comfort-zone philosophy: From the very beginning participants will be challenged with tough real world business cases. With the continuous assistance our trainer, they will eventually be able to simplify these challenges into sets of solvable subtasks.

Dates in 2015

The 10-day bootcamp (which includes the modules Laying the Foundation to Telling the Story - Show what you did) is split into 2x5 training days. The participation within different courses is possible in the weeks after the bootcamp has taken place. You will find all important dates in the following table:

Course First Date Second Date
Bootcamp 11.07 - 22.07.2016 07.11 - 18.11.2016
Laying the Foundation 12.09 – 13.09.2016 21.11 – 22.11.2016
Entering the Arena 15.09.2016 24.11.2016
Getting Data 16.09.2016 25.11.2016
Finding Insights and Making Predictions 19.09 – 22.09.2016 28.11 – 01.12.2016
Big Data Analytics in your Business 26.09 – 27.09.2016 05.12 – 06.12.2016
Telling the story - Show what you did 29.09 – 30.09.2016 08.12 – 09.12.2016
Are you interested in attending the IBM Statistics Academy? You can reserve a course slot for the coming IBM statistics academy free of charge. Write us an email at kontakt@statistik-beratung.com or give us a call under 0551/892 48 058, we are happy to help.

The IBM Statistics Academy is conducted in cooperation with Arrow ECS.

IBM Statistics Academy - Data Science Ausbildung im 10-Tage Bootcamp

Im Big-Data-Zeitalter stehen Ihnen mit großen Datensammlungen viele wertvolle Informationen zur Verfügung, aber wie lässt sich diese neue Ressource am besten nutzen? Die Nachfrage an Data Scientists übersteigt bei weitem das Angebot. Die IBM Statistics Academy schließt diese Lücke und befähigt Sie innerhalb kürzester Zeit Daten nicht nur zu sammeln sondern auch statistisch fundiert auszuwerten.

Statistics is the art and science of using data to make better informed decisions.

Lernen Sie Ihre Daten zu nutzen und einen unternehmerischen Unterschied zu machen. So nutzte beispielsweise eine Großbäckerei ihre Daten um einen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Wetter und dem Appetit ihrer Kunden zu ermitteln. Mithilfe dieser Kenntnisse ließ sich die Produktion zielgenau steuern um somit Lager- und Produktionskosten zu sparen und den Umsatz zu steigern. Wir möchten, dass auch Sie zu diesen Unternehmen gehören.

Mit Hilfe der IBM Statistics Academy lernen Sie statistische Methoden und Modelle für Ihr Unternehmen zu nutzen. Dabei ist es unerheblich, ob Sie beispielsweise bereits als Analyst arbeiten und ihr Wissen bzgl. spezieller Verfahren vertiefen möchten oder erst am Anfang stehen und nur eine vage Vorstellung von Begriffen wie Data Mining, Predictive Modeling oder Big Data haben. Die IBM Statistics Academy ermöglicht Ihnen das beste aus Ihren Daten herauszuholen, da wir das beste aus der IBM Schulungswelt herausgeholt haben und es in einem Bootcamp zusammengebracht haben.

Durch den Besuch der IBM Statistics Academy werden auch Sie den Planeten ein wenig smarter machen und in Zukunft für sich und Ihr Unternehmen statistisch fundierte Entscheidungen treffen.

IBM Statistics Academy

Die Academy besteht aus folgenden Modulen:

1. Laying the foundation (2 Tage)

Ziel des Seminars ist es den Teilnehmern die der Statistik zu Grunde liegenden Konzepte und Begrifflichkeit anschaulich zu vermitteln. Dabei stehen keine mathematischen Formulierungen oder stumpfe Rechenvorschriften im Vordergrund, sondern die Bedeutung der Konzepte und Begriffe als unterstützende Werkzeuge für Ihre Entscheidungsprozesse. Das Training ist somit ein exzellenter Crashkurs für alle interessierten Statistikanfänger und bietet fortgeschrittenen Statistikern die Möglichkeit vorhandene Verständnislücken endgültig zu schließen.

2. Entering the Arena (1 Tag)

Wir erstellen gemeinsam mit Ihnen das Wörterbuch Wirtschaft- Statistik, auf Grundlages des "Introduction to IBM SPSS Modeler"-Kurses. Damit wird es Ihnen gelingen wirtschaftliche Fragestellungen in überprüfbare statistische Hypothesen zu verwandeln. Durch dieses Modul lernen Sie die richtigen Fragen zu stellen, die dazu führen statistische Lösungsansätze fest in die Entscheidungsprozesse Ihres Unternehmens zu integrieren.

3. Getting and Preparing Data (1 Tag)

Schätzungsweise werden bis zu 80% der in ein Statistikprojekt investierten Zeit für den korrekten Import und Datenaufbereitung verwendet. Mit dem Kurs "Advanced Data Preparation Using IBM SPSS Modeller" lernen Sie, wie Sie sich verschiedene Datenbanktypen umgehen oder mit Hilfe von Web Scrapping auch das Internet als Datenquelle zu Nutze machen können, um Datensätze für Ihre statischen Modelle nutzen zu können. Darüber hinaus werden wir Ihnen zeigen, worauf Sie bei der Umwandlung, Aufbereitung und Bereinigung von Daten achten müssen, da getreu dem Garbage-In-Garbage-Out Prinzip Ihr Modell nur so gut sein kann wie Ihre Daten.

4. Finding Insights and Making Predictions - Statistics as your Crystal Ball (4 Tage)

Nicht selten sollen mithilfe eines Datensatzes Zusammenhänge aufgedeckt werden um bestimmte Marktentwicklungen vorherzusagen. Mit den Trainings "Predictive Modeling with IBM SPSS Modeler" und "Advanced Predictive Modeling with IBM SPSS Modeler" erhalten Sie das Know-how dazu. Wir geben Ihnen einen guten Überblick über die wichtigsten Vorhersagemodelle und beantworten sämtliche praxisrelevante Fragen zur Modelleselektion.

5. Telling the story - Show what you did (2 Tage)

Um eine erfolgreiche Integration statistischer Methoden in berufliche Entscheidungsprozesse zu gewährleisten ist es unerlässlich nicht nur die richtigen Antworten geben können, sondern diese auch in Ihrem Unternehmen zu kommunizieren. In diesem Modul lernen Sie, Ihre statistischen Erkenntnisse in Ihrem Unternehmen verständlich zu kommunizieren. Dazu gehören neben individualisierten Grafiken und Tabellen aus SPSS auch ein spezieller von uns gewählter Ansatz – Shiny in SPSS.

Die Absolvierung der IBM Statistics Academy ist auf zwei verschiedenen Wegen möglich. Zum einen bieten wir die Buchung einzelner Module an, zum anderen ist es möglich die IBM Statistics Academy als Bootcamp zu absolvieren.

Das Bootcamp ist Ihr Fast-Track zum Data Scientist. In 10 Tagen durchlaufen Sie die Module „Laying the Foundation“ bis „Telling the Story“ und entwickeln sich mit der Unterstützung erfahrener Trainer zum Data Scientist.

Unsere Lernmethoden

Unabhängig davon, welchen Weg der Albsolvierung Sie wählen, verfolgt die IBM Statistics Academy drei grundlegende Prinzipien:
  • Mentee-Mentorenbeziehung: Sehr kleine Trainingsgruppen ermöglichen einen direkten Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen Trainer und Teilnehmenden, somit können Sie optimal von den Erfahrungen und vom Wissen unserer Trainer profitieren.
  • Projektzentriertes Vorgehen: Auf kleine voneinander unabhängige Übungen wird weitestgehend verzichtet. Ausgehend von einem realen und damit komplexen Projekt werden einzelne Probleme durch die Teilnehmer identifiziert, was wiederum zu konkreten Übungen führt.
  • "Get out of your comfort zone” Ansatz: Die Teilnehmenden werden mit möglichst komplexen Fragestellungen konfrontiert. Diese werden durch den Trainer stückweise vereinfacht, bis sie durch den Teilnehmenden zu lösen sind. Somit ist jederzeit eine maximale Herausforderung gegeben.

Termine in 2016

Das 10-tägige Bootcamp (beinhaltet Laying the Foundation bis Telling the Story - Show what you did) wird in 2x5 Trainingstagen mit einer einwöchigen Pause zwischen dem ersten und dem zweiten Teil durchgeführt. Der Besuch einzelner Kurse ist in den darauf folgenden Wochen möglich. Hier erhalten Sie alle Termine auf einem Blick:

Schulung Termin
Bootcamp Auf Anfrage
Laying the Foundation Auf Anfrage
Entering the Arena Auf Anfrage
Getting Data Auf Anfrage
Finding Insights and Making Predictions Auf Anfrage
Telling the story - Show what you did Auf Anfrage
Haben wir Ihr Interesse wecken können? Sie können sich schon heute für die Kurse Ihrer Wahl unverbindlich und kostenlos anmelden. Schreiben Sie uns eine Email an kontakt@statistik-beratung.com oder rufen Sie uns unter 0551/892 48 058 an, wir beantworten gerne ihre Fragen.

Die IBM Statistics Academy wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Esciris angeboten.